PLC First VIII Claim Fifth Consecutive Head of the River Trophy

We might suggest they rename Champion Lakes ‘PLC Lakes’, after Saturday’s IGSSA Head of the River, where PLC took home all of the major trophies.

A cloudy, wintery morning did nothing to rain on their parade, as they powered to victory in both the First and Second Eight events and won the Head of the River Regatta Trophy and Overall Champion School Trophy.

PLC were hot favourites going into the final regatta of the season after an almost flawless run in the First VIII races, winning six of the past seven events, and nine of the last Wendy Zuideveld Perpetural Trophies for Champion School.

After a strong start in the final race of the day, the First VIII were ahead at the 250m mark and had pulled a boat length clear of their nearest competition by the 1000m mark.  The girls powered to a convincing win in 7 minutes 31.67 seconds, ahead of Perth College, MLC, St Hildas and Penrhos.

PLC also took home the Second VIII trophy and won the IGSSA Old Girls race.

Head Coach, David Milne, Head of Rowing, Annette Pearce, and Captain of Boats, Rebecca Gunzburg (Year 12), celebrated the victory with their teammates and coaches at the PLC Head of the River Rowing Dinner on Saturday night.


First VIII

Alice Warner (Year 12) – Cox, Rebecca Gunzburg (Year 12) – Captain of Boats, Samantha Deykin (Year 12), Isabella Ahern (Year 11), Jess Vinnicombe (Year 12), Louisa Jackson (Year 12), Gabby McDonald (Year 12),  Jacqui Swick (Year 12) and Georgina Fisher (Year 12). Coached by David Milne.

Second VIII

Tara Rogers (Year 10) – Cox, Tori Steinepreis (Year 12), Abby Weber (Year 11), Sarah Lye (Year 11), Pippa Joyce (Year 11), Bridget Wilson (Year 11), Izzy Guille (Year 12) and Charlotte Bray (Year 12). Coached by David Milne.


Head of the River Race Results for PLC

Old Scholars Coxed Eight – 1st

Senior A Coxed Quad – 2nd
Senior B Coxed Quad – 1st
Senior C Coxed Quad – 1st
Senior D Coxed Quad – 2nd

Year 10 A Coxed Eight – 1st
Year 10 B Coxed Eight – 1st
Year 10 C Coxed Eight – 2nd

Schoolgirl A Single Scull – 1st
Schoolgirl B Single Scull – 2nd

Freshman A Coxed Eight – 2nd
Freshman B Coxed Eight – 2nd, 3rd

Year Nine A Coxed Quad – 1st
Year Nine B Coxed Quad – 4th
Year Nine C Coxed Quad – 3rd
Year Nine D Coxed Quad – 4th

Junior A Single Scull – 1st
Junior B Single Scull – 1st

Freshman A Coxed Quad – 6th
Freshman B Coxed Quad – 2nd
Freshman C Coxed Quad – 5th
Freshman D Coxed Quad – 2nd

Year Nine A Coxed Eight – 1st
Year Nine B Coxed Eight – 4th

Year 10 A Coxed Quad – 3rd
Year 10 B Coxed Quad – 1st
Year 10 C Coxed Quad – 2nd
Year 10 D Coxed Quad – 2nd

Senior Coxed Eight – 2nd
Second Coxed Eight – 1st
First Coxed Eight – 1st

Click here for the full Head of the River regatta results.

Back to news list